About Bilkent
Academics
Student Affairs
Administrative Units
Campus Life
Information Technology
Bilkent Symphony Orchestra
Bilkent Library
International Students
Exchange Programs
 
 
  Directory
  A to Z Links
 
 
 
Information for:
 Current Students
 Faculty / Staff
 Alumni
 Visitors
 

 
 
 
ACADEMIC CALENDAR
 
 

2013 - 2014

 
19 July 2013, Friday Transfer applications deadline
2 August 2013, Friday Offerings for Fall semester finalized
7 August, Wednesday (12:30) Feast of Ramadan's Eve, half day holiday
8 - 10 August 2013,
Thursday - Saturday
Feast of Ramadan holiday
12 - 16 August 2013,
Monday - Friday
Pre-registrations for FADA and FMPA aptitude exams
14 - 28 August 2013,
Wednesday - Wednesday
Course pre-registrations
22 - 23 August 2013,
Thursday - Friday
FADA aptitude exams
22 - 25 August 2013,
Thursday - Sunday
FMPA aptitude exams
22 August 2013, Thursday Transfer application results sent to the Registrar
23 August 2013, Friday Tuition installment plan application deadline for new students (admitted in 2013)
26 August 2013, Monday FADA and FMPA aptitude exams results announced
26 August - 2 September 2013,
Monday - Monday
Registrations for new undergraduate students (admitted in 2013)
26 August 2013, Monday Classrooms available to all departments for scheduling
29 August 2013, Thursday Transfer students' curricula finalized
30 August 2013, Friday Victory Day holiday
2 September 2013, Monday New minor program applications deadline

FALL SEMESTER
2 September 2013, Monday COPE-2 speaking exam for Summer School students
3 September 2013, Tuesday (10:00) COPE-1 exam
3 September 2013, Tuesday (18:00) COPE-1 exam results announced
3 September 2013, Tuesday New graduate students finalized
4 September 2013, Wednesday (10:00) COPE-2 exam
4 September 2013, Wednesday Departments finalize schedules, quotas, and elective pools
5 - 7 September 2013,
Thursday - Saturday
COPE-2 speaking exam
5 - 7 September 2013,
Thursday - Saturday
Registrations for new graduate students (admitted in 2013)
5 - 10 September 2013,
Thursday - Tuesday
Courses pre-loaded
5 - 10 September 2013,
Thursday - Tuesday
GE100 Introduction to Academic Life program for all new students (admitted in 2013)
6 September 2013, Friday (09:00) French aptitude test
7 September 2013, Saturday (10:00) Turkish Exam for International Students
9 September 2013, Monday Tuition due for all students
9 September 2013, Monday New minor program application results sent to the Registrar
9 September 2013, Monday COPE-2 exam results announced
11 September 2013, Wednesday Exchange students' course registrations
11 September 2013, Wednesday New students' and elective courses pre-loaded
11 September 2013, Wednesday (16:30) Pre-loaded courses announced
12 September 2013, Thursday (08:50) English Preparatory Program Period 1 begins
12 - 13 September 2013,
Thursday - Friday
Course registrations for department students
16 September 2013, Monday Classes begin
16 September 2013, Monday Registration for courses additional to the curriculum begins
17 September 2013, Tuesday (17:00) Elective and required quotas merged
23 September 2013, Monday Optional re-registrations for successfully completed courses
23 September 2013, Monday Course add/drop deadline
14 October 2013, Monday No classes
15 - 18 October 2013,
Tuesday - Friday
Feast of Sacrifice holiday
21 October 2013, Monday (08:50) English Preparatory Program Period 2 begins
28 October 2013, Monday No classes
29 October 2013, Tuesday Republic Day holiday
10 November 2013, Sunday Commemoration of Atatürk
22 November 2013, Friday (08:50) English Preparatory Program Period 3 begins
11 December 2013, Wednesday Offerings for Spring semester finalized
13 - 31 December 2013,
Friday - Tuesday
Course pre-registrations
23 December 2013, Monday (08:50) English Preparatory Program Period 4 begins
31 December 2013, Tuesday Withdraw deadline
31 December 2013, Tuesday Last day of classes
1 January 2014, Wednesday New Year's Day holiday
2 January 2014, Thursday (17:30) Deadline for submitting FZ grades for non-qualifying students
2 January 2014, Thursday (18:00) Students who do not qualify to take final exams (FZ grades) announced
3 - 11 January 2014,
Friday - Saturday
Final exams
6 January 2014, Monday New minor program applications deadline
9 January 2014, Thursday Transfer applications deadline
14 January 2014, Tuesday Classrooms available to all departments for scheduling
15 January 2014, Wednesday (17:30) Grade submission deadline for instructors
15 January 2014, Wednesday (18:00) Grades announced
16 January 2014, Thursday (17:30) Retake exam application deadline
16 - 18 January 2014,
Thursday - Saturday
COPE-2 speaking exam
17 January 2014, Friday (17:00) Retake exam schedules announced
17 January 2014, Friday (10:00) COPE-1 exam
17 January 2014, Friday (18:00) COPE-1 exam results announced
18 January 2014, Saturday (08:40) Retake exams begin
20 January 2014, Monday Last day of Fall semester classes for English Preparatory Program
20 January 2014, Monday (10:00) COPE-2 exam
20 January 2014, Monday Transfer application results sent to the Registrar
22 January 2014, Wednesday (17:30) Last day for submission of letter grades resulting from retake exams
22 January 2014, Wednesday (18:00) Announcement of letter grades resulting from retake exams
23 January 2014, Thursday Departments finalize schedules, quotas, and elective pools
24 January 2014, Friday COPE-2 exam results announced
24 January 2014, Friday New minor program application results sent to the Registrar
24 January 2014, Friday Transfer students' curricula finalized
27 - 30 January 2014,
Monday - Thursday
Courses pre-loaded

SPRING SEMESTER
29 January 2014, Wednesday Tuition due for all students
29 January 2014, Wednesday Last day for leave-of-absence applications
30 January 2014, Thursday Exchange students' course registrations
31 January 2014, Friday New students' and elective courses pre-loaded
31 January 2014, Friday (16:30) Pre-loaded courses announced
3 February 2014, Monday (08:50) English Preparatory Program Period 5 begins
3 - 4 February 2014,
Monday - Tuesday
Course registrations
5 February 2014, Wednesday Classes begin
5 February 2014, Wednesday Registration for courses additional to the curriculum begins
6 February 2014, Thursday (17:00) Elective and required quotas merged
12 February 2014, Wednesday Optional re-registrations for successfully completed courses
12 February 2014, Wednesday Course add/drop deadline
3 March 2014, Monday (08:50) English Preparatory Program Period 6 begins
31 March 2014, Monday (08:50) English Preparatory Program Period 7 begins
23 April 2014, Wednesday National Sovereignty and Children's Day holiday
1 May 2014, Thursday Labor and Solidarity Day holiday
2 May 2014, Friday No classes
5 May 2014, Monday (08:50) English Preparatory Program Period 8 begins
16 May 2014, Friday Withdraw deadline
16 May 2014, Friday Last day of classes
16 - 26 May 2014,
Friday - Monday
Course requests for Summer School through SRS
19 May 2014, Monday Commemoration of Atatürk, Youth and Sports Day holiday
20 May 2014, Tuesday (17:30) Deadline for submitting FZ grades for non-qualifying students
20 May 2014, Tuesday (18:00) Students who do not qualify to take final exams (FZ grades) announced
21 - 29 May 2014,
Wednesday - Thursday
Final exams
29 - 31 May 2014,
Thursday - Saturday
COPE-2 speaking exam
30 May 2014, Friday (10:00) COPE-1 exam
30 May 2014, Friday (18:00) COPE-1 exam results announced
2 June 2014, Monday (17:30) Grade submission deadline for instructors
2 June 2014, Monday (18:00) Grades announced
2 June 2014, Monday Last day of Spring semester classes for English Preparatory Program
2 June 2014, Monday (10:00) COPE-2 exam
2 June 2014, Monday Offerings for Summer School finalized
3 June 2014, Tuesday (17:30) Retake exam application deadline
3 June 2014, Tuesday Tuition due for courses running between Period 8 and 9 (English Preparatory Program)
4 June 2014, Wednesday (17:00) Retake exam schedules announced
5 June 2014, Thursday (08:40) Retake exams begin
5 June 2014, Thursday COPE-2 exam results announced
6 June 2014, Friday Tuition due for courses starting in Period 9 (English Preparatory Program)
9 June 2014, Monday English Preparatory Program Period 9 classes begin
10 June 2014, Tuesday (17:30) Last day for submission of letter grades resulting from retake exams
10 June 2014, Tuesday (18:00) Announcement of letter grades resulting from retake exams
14 June 2014, Saturday Graduation Ceremony

SUMMER SCHOOL 2014
3 June 2014, Tuesday Tuition due for students (English Preparatory Program)
5 June 2014, Thursday (08:50) English Preparatory Program Period 9 begins
5 - 6 June 2014,
Thursday - Friday
Course registrations for Summer School
9 June 2014, Monday Classes begin
11 June 2014, Wednesday Course add/drop deadline
4 July 2014, Friday Last day of Period 9 classes for English Preparatory Program
7 July 2014, Monday (08:50) English Preparatory Program Period 10 begins
19 July - 17 August 2014,
Saturday - Sunday
English Preparatory Program break
25 July 2014, Friday Withdraw deadline
25 July 2014, Friday Last day of classes
26 July 2014, Saturday (17:30) Deadline for submitting FZ grades for non-qualifying students
26 July 2014, Saturday (18:00) Students who do not qualify to take final exams (FZ grades) announced
28 - 30 July 2014,
Monday - Wednesday
Feast of Ramadan holiday
31 July - 4 August 2014,
Thursday - Monday
Summer School final exams
8 August 2014, Friday (17:30) Grade submission deadline for instructors
8 August 2014, Friday (19:00) Grades announced
28 August 2014, Thursday Last Day of English Preparatory Program Summer School
30 August 2014, Saturday Victory Day holiday